Home

As part of the True North Scripture Fellowship  work, I’m considering using resources available at the Memphis Public Library on a very steady basis. The problem is, I haven’t used my library card for the better part of twenty-five years.

Oh, I’ve used the library system since then – numerous times, multiple times more than the average citizen, in fact. I just never checked books out. Over the years I got into an easy habit of walking in, finding what I needed, taking copious notes or using a copying machine, and then leaving.

“Why not just check it out?” you may ask.

Well, I simply lost my library card somewhere along life’s way. I honestly have no idea where or when I lost it, but I know that it is indeed missing. In the back of my mind, I have this silly nightmare scenario where someone picked up my lost card and just went hog-wild checking out books without returning them, running up my civic tab to the stratosphere. My card is satisfying the cravings of a “overly literate identity thief” kind of thing. And so, in the best traditions of what you don’t know can’t hurt you, I never looked into the matter as my life grew increasingly busy over the years.

That changes today.

Early this morning I found the Memphis Public Library’s website and downloaded a Library Card Application. I will visit my neighborhood library branch today and clear the matter up once and for all. If my nightmare scenario proves true and I have tremendous fines, I’ll see if I qualify for one of those new government bailout programs or something, I suppose… but if you do not hear from me again, perhaps you’ll be kind enough to visit me in the library dungeon, which my childhood memories always suggested was downstairs behind the stern ladies at the book checkout counter.librarydungeon1

The lesson is to avoid delaying when taking care of things, of course. No one takes care of everything in a timely fashion with the pace of modern life, so most people have one or two areas they’ve allowed to slide for awhile. Granted, you may not have a two-decade-old library card thing going on like I do, but hopefully this post has encouraged you to take care of that nagging little problem that seems to have permanently lodged itself into your “delay” box.

Putting things off is often a form of laziness or sloth, which can become a horrible area of personal weakness if left unchecked. When sloth or laziness becomes the normal way of going through life, it can even become dangerous. In fact, the Book of Proverbs tells us that “he who is slothful in his work is a brother to him who is a great destroyer.” (18:9 NKJV)

As we approach the holidays, wouldn’t it be nice to celebrate Thanksgiving and Christmas with that problem already solved, or at least on its way to being over? Take some time today to begin moving that issue into the “resolved” section of your life.

One thought on “I don’t want to go to the Library dungeon.

Leave a Reply

